The Eighth Circle – Fraud

by gannonned

The eighth ring of hell is reserved for those who commit fraud. Perhaps I could have found an environmental degradation that corresponded to fraud, but fraud is so ubiquitous to our time and culture that I decided to allow fraud to be fraud. I show here a scan of a dollar bill. I selected sections from it and then removed those sections, digitally, from the drawing I did of Manhattan so that Manhattan is eroded by the dollar. The architectural textures that resulted appealed to me since the damage was, after all, structural. With all of the protests in Chicago looking a lot like Seattle, this image seems appropriate. This drawing was also personal to me since the buildings are those that I saw for years everyday on the way to and from work.

 

 

